Home » Uncategorized » Landlords and tenants should negotiate rent-NFP

Landlords and tenants should negotiate rent-NFP

Landlords and tenants should negotiate rent-NFP

Publish date/time:

The National Federation Party believes that all residential landlords and tenants should negotiate their rent, and the Commerce Commission should not have a say in the matter.

NFP leader Dr Biman Prasad is questioning why the Commerce Commission is getting itself involved in determining how the market should work.

Dr Prasad said they are concerned how the commission is going to register the houses and flats, who is going to determine on what basis the landlord should charge rent because this is not the commission’s work.

However Commerce Commission Chairman Dr Mahendra Reddy said there is an imperfect market in the housing sector while responding to the NFP’s statement that the commission’s requirement for landlords to register with them is ill conceived.

Dr Reddy said they want the landlords to register so that they can have a price control order.

The Price control order will give the commission the authority to allow rent increases based on a formula and the formula will take into account the capital improvement done by the landlord, for example fencing the compound or installation of burglar bars which increases the value of the property.

With the price control the landlords can apply for an increase in rent but they will need to have previous and past data on rent level and renovations.

NFP leader Dr Biman Prasad said the market is not imperfect but the tenants are at risk.

There is an audio file attached to this story. Please login to listen.

But Dr Mahendra Reddy said the NFP does not understand there is an imperfect market.

There is an audio file attached to this story. Please login to listen.

Dr Reddy said people should go through the Self Regulating Guideline for Landlords and Tenants which will come into effect from the 1st of next month.

Story by: Akuila Cama

34 thoughts on “Landlords and tenants should negotiate rent-NFP

  1. I am with mahen reddy on this one. The market is not perfect. It is not the silver bullet. ‘Professor’ Biman Prasad of all people should know this instead of naively swallowing all liberalist dogma he reads in the text books. So-called ‘free markets’ can give rise to exploitative situations, as the rental market. Does professor Biman Prasad know how to think critically or he believes everything he reads in text books?

  2. Kanua Mahen Reddy fucked up minimum wage. he will fuck up rental also. mahen is incompetent. A dumb professor. Watch him shit all over the rental issue.

  3. In a free market economy supply and demand thus the market forces should always determine pricing
    So commerce commission should stay away from rent determination

  4. nops thats not the way to do it , we should play it fair, and that must be accepted by both sides of the players

  5. Land leases should be done this way as well ie. land owners directly with any tenants ?

    will end up at real market value for land instead of UCV .

    TLTB should wake up on this

  6. Does SODELPA agree with NFP view on above?

    And will NFP agree if SODELPA also wants the same done for land leases?

  7. SODELPA, kai, bai and Mahend KNOW SHIT how a rental market must work in a situation like Fiji. My best advice to take a refresher Economics 101 from Biman.

  8. Just wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity on your put up is simply cool and that
    i can suppose you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to clutch your feed to keep updated with impending post.
    Thanks 1,000,000 and please keep up the gratifying work.

  9. I гeally like what you gսys tend to be up too. Sucɦ clever
    work and exposure! Keep up thе superb wߋrks guys I’ve
    aԀded ʏou guys to my own blogroll.

  10. magnificent points altogether, you just gained a new reader.
    What could you suggest in regards to your submit
    that you made a few days ago? Any sure?

  11. After I initially commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me
    when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the exact same comment.
    Perhaps there is a means you are able to remove me from
    that service? Many thanks!

  12. I believe everything composed was actually very reasonable.
    However, think about this, what if you were to write a killer headline?
    I am not suggesting your information isn’t solid, however what if you added a post title that makes people desire more?
    I mean Landlords and tenants should negotiate rent-NFP |
    Fiji Today FijiTodays Open Forum Blog is kinda plain. You should glance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create post titles to grab viewers to click.
    You might add a video or a related picture or two to grab readers interested about everything’ve written.
    In my opinion, it might bring your blog a little livelier.

  13. Hi there! I know this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does running a well-established blog such as yours take a
    massive amount work? I am completely new to running a blog however I do write in my journal every
    day. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.

    Thankyou!

  14. Pingback: The Philosophy Of Sizzling Hot Deluxe Graj Za Darmo | biznfamily.com

  15. Greetings! Quick question that’s entirely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when viewing from my iphone.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able
    to fix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Thank you!

  16. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment
    (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any points for inexperienced blog writers?

    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  17. Remove them from the start up list and itll free of vital CPU resources and enhance your PC all round.
    Yes, the economy is located in rough the original shape.
    Defragmenting your disc will solve these issue.

  18. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the posts I realized it’s
    new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and
    checking back regularly!

  19. Hey very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing ..
    I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally?
    I am happy to seek out a lot of helpful information right
    here within the post, we’d like work out extra strategies on this
    regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  20. Dans le souci de ne pas vous decevoir, merci de nous signaler en passant par le lien contact, les eventuels problemes que
    vous pourriez Videoscourtesclic vous pourrez regarder gratuitement des films
    complets et des videos gratuites en streaming.

  21. obviously like your web-site however you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding
    it very troublesome to inform the truth on the other hand I will certainly come
    back again.

  22. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend
    your web site, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright
    clear concept

  23. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn. That is a
    really smartly written article. I will make sure to
    bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  24. Greetings I am so delighted I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just
    like to say thanks a lot for a tremendous post and
    a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  25. Thiss is the right web site for anyone who hopes to understand this topic.
    You knoow so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a subvject that has been
    discussed for many years. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

Leave a Reply

